India will hold seven-phase general election from April 19

India will hold a seven-phase general election starting on April 19, and the results will be announced on June 4.

The Election Commission of India announced the news at a press conference in New Delhi on Saturday.

Nearly 970 million people are eligible to vote, according to polling groups, making the election the world’s largest democratic exercise.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeks a record third consecutive term in the polls.

He will be challenged by an alliance of more than two dozen opposition parties led by the Indian National Congress, known as India or the Alliance for Inclusive Development of National India.

However, the alliance formed last year has struggled to stay united and share seats amicably to be able to fight one-on-one against Modi’s Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Modi and his Bharatiya Janata Party had been in campaign mode for months before the polling date was announced.

The prime minister flies across the country almost every day, launching new projects, making announcements, attending religious events and speaking at public and private meetings.

The Assembly and Legislative Assembly elections in four states – Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim – will be held simultaneously.

Source link

See also  Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal challenges arrest ahead of Indian elections

By Ali Raza

I am a dedicated and skilled News Content Writer with a passion for delivering accurate and engaging stories to a diverse audience. With a solid background in journalism and a keen eye for detail, I bring a commitment to excellence and a deep understanding of the evolving media landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *